Skip to main content

Teacher of the Year Award

The DVIDB Teacher of the Year Award honors a person who is exceptionally dedicated, knowledgeable and a skilled certified Teacher of Students with Visual Impairments or Certified Orientation and Mobility Specialist in any state approved or accredited day or specialized school, who serves students who are visually impaired, ages birth through 21, with or without additional disabilities.


2022 Winner

Teacher of the Year Award

Emily Maginn

Emily Maginn has worked as an Ohio-certified Teacher of Students with Visual Impairments and orientation and mobility specialist for more than 10 years. As an educator for South Central Ohio Educational Service Center, she has helped her students achieve exciting levels of independence. 

Maginn’s dedication to supporting students with visual impairments extends far beyond the classroom, however. She also supports student families by providing new opportunities to increase understanding and empower students to achieve their dreams. Maginn also helps bring awareness to the field by serving as mentor and practicum supervisor for future TVIs and orientation and mobility specialists in university licensure programs. 

In addition to these initiatives, Maginn also works in partnership with local universities and educational agencies to develop grant-funded projects that directly benefit students with low incidence sensory impairments. Most recently she helped design a week-long summer day camp in Ohio (now in its third year), which is serving as a blueprint for educators and specialists in other regions to build upon this work.

Maginn is a graduate of Bowling Green State University. She received her TVI license from the University of Toledo in Toledo, Ohio, and her Orientation and Mobility certification from The Ohio State University in Columbus, Ohio.

Past recipients of the DVIDB Teacher of the Year Award include:

2021 - Tim Lockwood
2020 - Robin Finley
2019 - Carady Holguin
2018 - Barb Johnson
2017 - Paula Tapia
2016 - Rachel Schles
2015 - Karen Koehler

2014 - Karyn Goldman
2013 - Wendy Watts
2012 - Cristal White Smith
2011 - Meredith McArdle
2010 - Dr. Sinnika Smothers
2009 - Barbara Johnson
2008 - Cindy Mock
2007 - Dr. Sheila Amato
2006 - Susan Osterhaus
2005 - Keely Hipp
2004 - Bonnie Lawrence

2003 - Judy Cernkovich

Last Updated:  6 March, 2021

© 2022 Council for Exceptional Children (CEC). All rights reserved.