Skip to main content

Deborah D. Hatton Dissertation of the Year Award

The Deborah D. Hatton Outstanding Dissertation of the Year Award is to recognize a DVIDB member who makes a significant contribution to the field through extensive study and research in their summative doctoral dissertation.

2022 Winner

Deborah D. Hatton Dissertation of the Year Award

Dr. Marina McCormick

Marina McCormick

Dr. Marina McCormick has 21 years of educational experience in which she has served as both a teacher of the deaf and a special education administrator.  Currently, she is the Region 4 Regional Day School Program for the Deaf (RDSPD) Coordinator at Region 4 Education Service Center in Houston, Texas.  The Region 4 RDSPD supports nearly 400 students who are deaf, hard of hearing, and deafblind, ages birth to 21, across Houston, Pasadena, and Deer Park ISDs.  In addition to this role, Dr. McCormick is currently an adjunct instructor for the University of Houston and Texas Tech University.  She has also served on several statewide and national committees to further advocate for high-quality, equitable instructional services for children who are deafblind.

Dr. McCormick completed her undergraduate studies in education of persons with hearing loss at the Robert E. Cook Honors College at Indiana University of Pennsylvania.  She went on to complete her master's degree at the University of St. Thomas in Houston, Texas where she studied multicultural urban special education and her doctorate studies at the University of Houston, studying professional leadership in special education.  Her research primarily focused on Texas' professional development efforts in the area of deafblindness and its effect on teachers' self-efficacy.  In addition, Dr. McCormick earned her principalship from Rice University as part of the Rice Education Entrepreneurship Program (REEP).  

Past recipients of the Dissertation of the Year Award include:

2021 - Dr. Rachel Schles
2020 - L. Beth Brady
2019 - DeEtte Snyder
2018 - Karen Koehler
2017 - Kathleen Farrand
2016 - Ellen Bowman
2015 - Mackenzie Savaiano

2014 - Jane Brown
2013 - Vicki DePountis
2012 - Tiffany Wild
2011 - Tessa McCarthy
2010 - Sinnika Smothers
2009 - Stacy Kelley
2008 - Derrick Smith
2003 - Grace Lappin
2001 - Sheila Amato
2000 - Ellyn Ross
1998 - Linda Mamer
1997 - L. Penny Rosenblum
1996 - Carol Allman
1995 - Madeline Milian-Perrone
1994 - Stuart Wittenstein
1993 - KC Dignan
1992 - Elizabeth Erwin

Last Updated:  6 March, 2021

© 2022 Council for Exceptional Children (CEC). All rights reserved.